quotes

#LoveThisQuote – My Heart and Other Black Holes

quote

Hey there, how you doin?
Did you know I collect quotes? I used to have a notebook full of quotes I liked from books or movies or things people had said that I really enjoyed, but I have no idea where its gone… Anyway, these days, I have a folder on my phone that is full of quotes and I’m bringing one out for you all today.

Depression is a heaviness that you can’t ever escape. It crushes down on you, making even the smallest things like tying your shoes or chewing on toast seem like a twenty-mile hike uphill. Depression is part of you. It’s in your bones and blood. If I know anything about it, this is what I know: it’s impossible to escape.

I read My Heart and Other Black Holes after leaving it to languish on my TBR shelf for what felt like an eternity and there were times when I loved it, because of quotes like the above, there were moments when Aysel described her depression so poignantly and so beautifully and it felt honest. It felt like how my brain works sometimes. She talks about it as though it is a black slug that lives in her gut. I’ve not come across a more accurate depression in a fictional book before. There were also times when it scared me a little. Back during Mental Health Awareness Week, Becky compiled a load of blog posts from various bloggers about their experiences with mental health and in my post, I mentioned that one thing I hated about books focusing on mental health is the idea that love can cure you and that I hated reading books about teenagers with mental unwellness meeting each other and then suddenly being all better just because they’ve found each other. Like eurgh. There was a moment when I thought this book was taking that turn, when Aysel starts to change her mind about ending her life because she meets Roman and falls for him, but in the end, this was a book about two troubled people who although they did find solace in each other, still battled their depression, it was refreshing to read!

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.